Sherlock: The Reichenbach Fall, part 2

I always seem to get my posts posted the day after I originally want to. 😛

I left off on my last blog post/rant/cryfest about BBC Sherlock’s The Reichenbach Fall talking about different theories for that episode . I’m going to continue that today.

So.

Spoiler warning continued.

SPOILERS AHEAD.

CAUTION- SPOILERS.

Okay, we good?

Good.

Now, onto more theories.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J0Hu2BSHiAg

This theory also makes a lot of sense. The cyclist, the rubbish truck, the ball.

The one thing I don’t really like about this theory is that they’re saying Sherlock’s body was fake. John was obviously in shock, so he might not have been seeing things clearly, but we could see the body and it was Sherlock. Also, like someone in the comments on that theory said, there was a man next to Sherlock with a bag of blood under his arm.

*shrug* Not a major complaint though.

Now, onto one of my own “theories.”

I only saw Reichenbach a few days ago, and haven’t had time to research and spend as much time on it as the people I linked to did.

I heard a quote somewhere once from Moffat, who said he’d read a bunch of the online theories, but we were missing something. He said Sherlock did something out of character.

And then I thought of something.

prefertotext

The phone. Sherlock called John.

S2E3Sherlock3crop

Moffat said he did something out of character. Well, Sherlock rarely ever called anyone. Is there something significant in that?

You might be thinking, “Well, maybe he called John because texting wouldn’t have quite been the same, and he wanted to make sure John was watching him, since John might not have responded to a text the same way he would have a phone call.”

But just the fact that he called instead of texting isn’t the whole reason I think this might (emphasis on ‘might’) be significant. I noticed this when watching Reichenbach.

ReichenbachPhone1

He dropped the phone on the roof. Why did he do that? If he had put it back in his pocket, the fall definitely would have crushed it had he landed on it. But why would he have cared if the phone broke?

Was there something on the phone? Is it like Irene Adler’s?

That’s about all I have there. 😛 If you have any ideas to strengthen or refute the phone theory, or have any idea as to why he would drop it on the roof, please do tell!

I think that’s all for theories at the moment. I think the only thing we know for certain is that Molly and Mycroft are probably in on it. If you’ve heard any other interesting theories, again, please let me know. 🙂

So now on to things I would love to see, or hope happen in Series 3.

S1E1John1canecrop

First, it would be so wonderful and terrible and depressing, but I’d really like to see John walking with his cane again in The Empty Hearse.

Second. I am so excited for John and Sherlock’s reunion. I can’t wait to see how they will do it. I heard a quote where Moffat said it was going to be more subtle than in the books, so I doubt Sherlock will appear in the way he does in the Empty House. I do think it would be fantastic if they would have a character akin to the one Sherlock is disguised as in the Empty House (trying not to give anything away to those who haven’t read it yet). So the book fans would all be like, “There he is!” And then they’d be like, “Nope!” XD 🙂

Since we’re talking about their reunion, let’s linger on a few ways they could do it.

I’ve seen a bunch of really interesting wishes for Series 3 and future series, here on the Sherlock Series 3 Confessions tumblr: http://sherlock-series3-confessions.tumblr.com/masterpost (Just as a fair warning, there is a bit of language sometimes. <_<) I’d like to do a post addressing things I’d like to see in future episodes soon, but for now I will just stick to Series 3.

So. John and Sherlock’s meeting. Let’s start with the riding crop this one.

series3wishes1

I definitely wouldn’t mind this, but I also wouldn’t mind it being the other way around. As a friend said, Sherlock playing the Doctor would be sweetly funny.

Perhaps something like this?

comebacksherlock


(found this via Pinterest. Unsure of the original source. If you are or know of the original creator/poster, please let me know so I can give credit where credit is due. 🙂 )

This would be… just yeah. And I had this awful and wonderful idea… what if John is gravely sick/injured when Sherlock comes back, as the above image suggests. Sherlock tries to take care of him and nurse him back to health, and John thinks he’s just a hallucination.

Or maybe that’s a tad too depressing, so let’s go on to something equally as depressing.

series3wishes2

This would be extremely painful, IMHO, but also very wonderful. John is no pushover. He will be extremely hurt that Sherlock didn’t let him know he wasn’t dead. In the book, Watson welcomes Holmes back with only a little hurt, but I almost think I’d like to see John really resenting and hurting from Sherlock’s deception.

This is also painful.

series3wishes3

😦

But you have to admit, it would make a good episode…

 

series3wishes5

 

Like “A Study in Pink”. I’m actually considering making a fanvid of this myself. I’ve been meaning to figure out how to work my dad’s editing software anyway…

series3wishes4

 

Again, depressing and painful and wonderful.

This post is again getting majorly long, so I shall leave with one last wish:

series3wishes6

 

😛

Do you have any theories? Wishes for future episodes? I’d love to hear them!

Hang in there, fellow Sherlockians! Series 3 is filming!!

~hannah!♥

 

(All screencaps were taken by me.)

 

One thought on “Sherlock: The Reichenbach Fall, part 2

  1. Kelly Darnell says:

    My favorite one is the last one:) No matter what they end up doing (although all those wonderfully depressing ideas would be great) I just want it to hurry up and get here already!!!! XD

Leave a Reply

