Oops. (In which Hannah apologizes again and rambles about fandom things)

Heh. And there we go again, with yet another month of not posting.

Oooops.

So, as the title says, I apologize once again for not posting in such a long time.

Now that that’s out of the way, there’s a lot to talk about. A lot has happened in the past month.

First of all, Happy Thanksgiving (Yester)Day to all my US readers! πŸ™‚ Hope you all had a good one. We spent it with my mom’s side of the family, which is always fun.

Now, onto the fandom things.

Exactly a week ago, I was still flailing in shock from a movie I had gone to see the night before – Catching Fire.

My dear friend Kelly and I went to a special double feature that AMC theaters hosted. They showed the Hunger Games first, and then Catching Fire for the 8 o’clock early showing. Well, that was the plan anyway. We got to the theater a little while early to make sure we got good seats. THG was supposed to start at 5, but there was a problem with the computers or something, and they had to reboot the whole system, which took a while because the system was so big. then there was a problem when they tried to re-upload THG to the system, in which the tail end of the movie got eaten, apparently. πŸ˜› So the theater gave us all a free movie ticket and free drink and popcorn ticket. Which made the wait worth it – ’cause Kelly and I didn’t care, ’cause we got to hang out. And free stuff is always good! πŸ˜€

Then after about an hour of waiting, THG started. I think I would have enjoyed it more if I wasn’t so excited for Catching Fire.

And then… Catching Fire happened.

I’ll try very hard to hold the “asljasldf”s and the spoilers, in case there are some of you who haven’t seen it yet.

But ahhhhhh.

It was much better than THG movie, IMHO. I thought THG was a good book-movie adaption, but Catching Fire was GREAT. I guess I’ve always liked Catching Fire better than THG anyway, but they pulled the movie off spectacularly.

There were a few things that I noticed had been left out, but most of them I understand. There was only one big thing that they left out that made me sad. (I shan’t mention it for spoilers sake. But if you’ve seen it, you know what I mean.)

The characters were fantastic. They did a brilliant job with everyone’s character development – and there were some brilliant new characters added to the ‘family’. I was concerned about Finnick, but ooohhh my, he was amazing. Johanna may be the best though. Gah.

I wasn’t expecting to cry very much in this one. But I cried through like half of it.

I’m slightly terrified for Mockingjay. O.o

I’m hoping to be able to see it again soon, and when I do, I might do a movie review post on it. I’d also like to re-read the books soon, so I might do a Hunger Games post in the future. Because sometimes I have mixed feelings about saying I’m in the Hunger Games fandom. (Besides the fact that we don’t actually have a name. Sad. I go with Mockingjays… rather be that than Tributes. O.O) But that’s something for another post. πŸ˜‰

I didn’t have much time to recover from Catching Fire before Saturday came around.

And Saturday, November 23rd, as many of you know, was the 50th anniversary of the most amazing British sci-fi show ever: Doctor Who.

Again, I will try to contain myself from showering you with “alsdjf”s and spoilers.

In fact, I don’t think I’ll say much on it at all right now. Doctor Who has been such a huge thing in my life, it really deserves its own post. I’ve been meaning to do another of the “Why I Love What I Love” posts like I did for Sherlock a few months back.

(I feel rather guilty having said so much more in this post about the Hunger Games, when Doctor Who is a much bigger fandom for me. So I shall give you a gif that describes Doctor Who in two words:)

πŸ˜‰

 

Now, I think I just have one more fandom thing for the time being…

In my last post, I gave release dates for the US release of Sherlock Series 3. Today, I just found out that the UK now has a release date as well!

The Empty Hearse will air on January 1st, with The Sign of Three and His Last Vow the following two weeks.

If there are any readers out there who are from the UK, and who wouldn’t mind posting Β a livestream link…. you will have my undying gratitude and I will be your new best friend forever. πŸ˜› πŸ˜‰

I think that’s it for now. I feel like I say this all the time, but hopefully FOR REAL THIS TIME, it won’t be so long before the next post.

Did you have a good Thanksgiving? Did any of you go to see Catching Fire, or The Day of the Doctor? What did you think? (Try to keep away from spoilers if you can, please. ;))

~hannah!β™₯

2 thoughts on “Oops. (In which Hannah apologizes again and rambles about fandom things)

  1. I saw a post on “Day of the Doctor” on Sherlockology. They’d included a few pictures from the show, so I saw those. Not being a whovian, I didn’t understand them. I didn’t read the article, because I might want to see it sometime. And though Sherlockology is a pledged spoiler-free site, they did warn against some slight spoilers in that one article. Was it pretty good then?

    • narniahannah says:

      I thought it was really, really good. πŸ˜€ And it seems like the majority of the fans seem to agree. But there are, of course, as always, the haters of a fandom who don’t seem to ever enjoy anything. XP
      Tired of Scrooges. πŸ˜›
      BUT, I really enjoyed it and thought it was very well done. ❀

Leave a Reply

